top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlajumoke

The Older I Get...

The simplicity of life is like a curve graph starting at the lower edge, rising and falling with times and seasons and hinging on cares.
~Olajumoke



As much as I would like to think that my life is really simple, I must say that my cares have evolved over the years and, this post is to briefly take you on a journey on how my "cares" have evolved over the years.


So, here we go;


At 1 and 2, I only cared about the breastmilk, water, sweets, biscuits, sleep, food and play.


At 3, I still cared about the same things but this time, I wanted to talk, I was eager to say the things I had heard people say around me.


At 4, 5 and 6, I cared about the cartoons, the nursery rhymes, play, my friends and of course, chocolates!


At, 7, 8 and 9, I cared about my assignments, class exercises, exams, coming first in my class, plus a little bit of play (because I was a gentle girl).


At 10, 11 and 12, I cared about my new school (secondary school) and new friends until I got my first seriously written 'love letter' when I was 12 and I began to care a little about my looks (don't judge me *covers face*, I showed the letter to my mum and it ended there).


At 13, 14, 15, I cared about passing my exams, a little about the attention from boys and my looks.


At 16, I cared about my admission into the university and yeah, my new friends, managing the independence I had just gotten (first time away from my parents), my looks too.


At 17, 18 and 19, I cared about getting good grades, maintaining a good GP, having a boyfriend (*coughs mischievously*), my looks again and a bit about my relationship with God (smh, when a relationship with God should have been my first priority).


At 20, 21, I cared about graduating from the university, serving my country (NYSC), getting a good job that pays 6 digits, just making money really early, I almost stopped caring about the boys at this time (for real, it was money over boys).


At 22, 23, I cared about keeping my job, having less challenges at work, improving to reduce my boss’ complaints and trying to find a work life-balance. I was really drowning in the challenges this phase of work and life posed. I think I got a lot of things wrong but God showed up!


At 24, 25, life had hit very hard relatively, so I cared about finding a different life outside work, finding fulfilment, I cared about starting a business in line with my passion, I also cared about making a 'dream' relationship work. I just cared about having peace and some form of sanity! I was about to lose my mind and perhaps lose it all. And for the countless time, God showed up!


At 26, there was a major change for the better, so I cared about having it differently from what it had been in the past years, I cared about proving myself to be better than I had been made to believe I was, I cared about "men" (not boys), I cared about finding healing, getting my groove back and being a new and real me. I cared about rising with my head never to be down again.


And now at 27, I’m not sure I care about so many things, I just care about these few things;


  • Having an intimate and inseparable father-daughter and friend-to-friend relationship with God.

  • Finding purpose and calling more than just following passion and money.

  • Finding expressions for my calling and giving ALL I’ve got to it.

  • Being found by the one that will love me like Christ loves the church and building something made in heaven with him.

  • Giving my very best to my friends and family and building a real connection with them all.

  • Getting great REWARDS for my past and present work, labour and pain.

  • Making wealth.

  • Living in peace and health (in every form).

  • About me me me and me, my peace, my sanity, my satisfaction and growth.

  • And I care about you, yes you for real and I want to give all I can and know how to do to be a blessing to you.

Looking at these things I care about now, I see GROWTH and I am grateful.

I guess it's true that with change in age comes a change in one’s perspective to life.

Have your cares changed over the years?

Ask yourself what the 7 things you care about the most are and see if they will lead you to living the life you desire.


Cheers to an amazing new year!


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page