top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlajumoke

AMCVA8 Female Dresses Review

I didn’t think my first post after such a long time taken off blogging would be a fashion review. My first fashion review for that matter. I had other plans, trust me.


Maybe I’ve always had an opinion in this regard (I mean fashion and style) and had always known that someday I would talk about it but, never thought it’d be now.

Anyway, I was inspired by Jumoke Shotonwa’s Instagram stories and thought to say a little something on my story as well but, I ended up writing so much that I thought the long post could make it as a blog post. (little becomes much when your heart is in it right? - sounds unrelated? I know 🙃)


The goal here is to share some tips with the aid of some pictures while also critiquing. The pictures explain my points.


And now, without further ado *drum roll*, let’s get straight to it.


  • It’s almost always right with simplicity and almost easy to get it wrong with extravagance.


Bimbo Ademoye made it to the top three best dressed female with this dress. Noticed the simplicity of the dress, accessories and hair? Now, you get the point 👍



  • The process is as important as the finished look. By process I mean the fabric, stitching, body analysis, accessories and everything that goes into getting the finished look... always pay attention to these details.


Now see what I’m saying with Lala Akindoju’s dress. The fabric is a no no . You want to recreate a look like that and you use a fabric like this . Tell my why o why o why 🥺

The little bows behind don’t even align and the fabric is the reason why the dress will easily look rumpled somewhere beneath. Enough said.


  • How you style your hair is as important as how you style the dress. Hair styling makes a difference whether you admit it or not.


Bisola’s hair I think is the only problem I have with this her look. I mean, the shoulders of the dress is extravagant, the back of the dress also has an extra to it. In my opinion, the flowing hair wasn’t necessary, we don’t need the hair covering what matters, which is the exaggerated shoulders and back. In all fairness, she killed this look! She also made it to top three best dressed.



  • As a stylist, carve a niche based on your strength for yourself. As a person, know and accentuate your personal style. It’ll always help. Don’t try to be or look like just anybody.


Now, if you know Simi Drey you’d wonder what happened with this look. I am so bothered by this look.


What exactly happened to our sweet girl Simi? I can’t find her 😭 And, where did she get those shoes from? 🥺 I guess we know who or what she tried to look like from the pictures below... I’ll say no more.





  • As a stylist, your creativity should constantly be cultivated. Don’t wait till you have to do that ‘big’ project to experiment.


Don’t be too confident in your creativity that you don’t work it behind scenes. Nana Akuado seems like that designer that has done a lot of hard work experimenting with her creativity behind scenes . That’s why she almost never goes wrong when she does the ‘extraordinary’

Check this outstanding look!





  • If something feels off, critique the process, don’t just ignore the feeling. The tiny little details matter. I was going to give this Nengi’s look a 💯 but I was put off by the crotch area. or is it just me? *sighs*



Okayyy, why is nobody saying anything about Juliana Olayode and Idia Isien. Gosh! I love love love their looks.





Finally, the ones that gave me a headache were from Tiannah and Denrele but again, it’s Tiannah and Denrele 🥱 ,like it or not, they have carved for themselves a niche (I just don’t know what it is called, somebody help me).






Ha, I was disapointed with Nancy Isime and Bisola’s looks ☹️. Nancy’s look is really off and confusing and, what’s with all the beads 😒

Bisola looks a bit too much and her shoes look wrong, I just don’t like it!



What’s a review without the best dressed ? I won’t say much but you‘d understand some of my points in this choice of the best dressed. Congratulations Osas 👏


Hair styling, accessories, fabric match, makeup, shoes, everything!



On a final note, some of us are not Lagosians 🥺 because...



Although I couldn’t capture all my thoughts because “Oporrr” , I tried by best. Let me know what you think of this review ❤️

And, maybe, just maybe I am back to blogging.






63 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page