top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlajumoke

DEMYSTIFYING THIS BODY SHAPE ISH


Whew!


*Important note before reading*

you are not your body shape or size, your beauty, intelligence, values, successes are in no way determined by your body shape. So, LIVE beyond your looks.

So, at some point in my life, I thought I had the rectangular body shape, then I thought it was the hourglass shape (yeah, don’t even try to argue with your screen) and then I thought it was the pear/triangular shape (hm hm). My hope of falling into the hourglass body shape category inspired my study on what these shapes really are/mean but trust me, a shape is still a shape (or shape na shape).


So as not to get things too complicated, I will streamline this post to the common five body shapes which are:


1. Rectangle Shape;

People with this body shape usually look ‘straight’. Shoulders, bust and hips are about the same size with no defined waistline. This shape is also called the straight or ruler body.


2. Hourglass Shape;

This shape is characterized by hips and bust being about the same measurement, smaller or well defined waistline (this shape is mostly called the figure 8 or X shape and is the dream shape for most women, but remember, shape na shape o)


3. Triangle/Pear Shape;

This body shape type is characterized by shoulder and bust which are narrower than hips, the waist is fairly defined and sometimes slopes out to the hips. Almost like the hourglass, only that the bust and shoulders are not as wide as the hips.


4. Apple Shape/Inverted Triangle Shape;

This body shape type describes a person with broader shoulders and bust than hips. The body is not necessarily curvy through the hips and the waistline is not really well defined.


5. Round Shape;

This body shape type is generally characterized by a large bust, narrow hips and a full mid-section. The body weight is usually concentrated at the mid-section.


A lot of people feel intimidated by or envious of other people’s shape, there is absolutely no need for that (No matter the pressure, just be yourself *singing in Simi's voice*)


The typical question now is, ‘How do I accurately know my body shape?’


I am sure there are more than these two ways highlighted below, you can make more research however, because we are keeping it simple here, I will suggest these two ways;


1. Make measurements of these body parts; Shoulder, Bust, Waist, Hips. Then compare them in line with the above explanations. Otherwise,


2. Use a body shape calculator. Now, there are several body shape calculators online, however, this link;


has a reliable one and even has notes that clearly explain the different body shapes.


Examples of some celebrities and their body shapes based on what we see are;


· Hourglass – Marilyn Monroe, Sofia Vergara

· Rectangular – Kate Hudson, Eva Longoria, Anne Hathaway, Camron Diaz

· Triangular/Pear – Beyonce, Shakira, Kim Kardashian

· Round – Queen Latifah, Rebel Wilson

· Apple – Angelina Jolie, Naomi Campbell, Jennifer Hudson


Your body shape can be enhanced by;


1. Loving and embracing your shape;

My advice, whatever you do to enhance your shape should be done out of love and not out of ‘I hate my body and I want it to be like this person’s own’ attitude. Love your body, embrace it, then, change becomes easier.


2. Exercising;

You will be amazed at how good and beautiful you will feel if you exercise right. There are quite a number of exercises for different body parts and they are effective if you are consistent with them. Exercise is also a great self-confidence builder.


3. Eating Right;

Garbage in, garbage out. You can’t keep feeding yourself with junks and expect to have a great body. I used to think that I could get away with eating anything until I started seeing a bulge in my lower abdomen when I took pictures (that was so uncool and disturbing, trust me) until then I didn’t realize that a slim body is not an excuse for unhealthy eating habit.


4. Dressing Right;

There are style and dress tips for different body shapes. Starting from the necklines to sleeves to waistlines, to dress lengths, dress designs and patterns, there are great tips for different shapes. You might have to be deliberate in learning these tips. This is not to say that you can’t wear what you like, you actually can, you can however let these tips help in guiding your style.


Later on, I will be sharing some of these tips, just stay connected *winks*


Remember, shape is shape, every body-shape is great and can be enhanced.


Thank you for reading again, don’t forget to drop your comments below.


Always remember to love your body and live beyond your looks!


With Love,

Olajumoke.

XOXO

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page