top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlajumoke

I TOOK IT ALL FOR GRANTED...



I remember when I could smile so brightly for you to see

I remember those hearty laughter that made me cough

I remember when I could freely give you a side hug, a casual hug or a bear hug

I remember the high fives we freely gave

I remember the random pecks

I remember when I could sit so closely beside you or stand so closely behind or in front of you

I remember when we could freely hold hands

I remember when I could come so close enough to speak in a whisper

I remember it all, and I must say I took it all for granted.

Now, my smile is behind a mask, so broad, so genuine but, how can you even see this?

I really want to hug you when you tell me those things or when I just miss you but, I'll just stand before you like a dummy, smile behind my mask and make some funny gestures hoping you'll see because I'm really confused on how to really express myself

I can't even give as little as a high five, I have to wave from afar like I'm saying goodbye even when I'm not

Even if I blow you a kiss, you wouldn't see it

I can't even whisper into your ears

I avoid coming in contact with you like I avoid a plague.

"How long more will this last?" A question I seek an answer to

Let this virus be gone at once lest we create a distance between us that cannot be lessened.

Once again, I'm sorry I took it all for granted.

Yours lovingly,

Your Dear Friend.


The pandemic has made me realize the seemingly little things we take for granted and I hope it will teach us to be more appreciative of God, one another and oneself.



75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page